Honorary Aldermen / Alderwomen



City Council

To pass the following resolution – HONORARY ALDERMEN/ALDERWOMEN That in pursuance of its powers under Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council confers on **Mr Jonathan Drean, Mrs Lynda Bowyer, Mr George Wheeler and Mrs Vivien Pengelly**, past Members of Plymouth City Council, the title of Honorary Alderman/Alderwomen in recognition of their eminent services to the Council of the said City during the period when they were Members of the Council.

Due to the sad passing of Mrs Pengelly the honour is recommended to be awarded posthumously as a tribute and a mark of respect to Mrs Pengelly's family.

(Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 provides that the foregoing honour may be conferred by resolution of the Council passed by not less than two thirds of the members voting thereon at a meeting specially convened for the purpose.)